NVIDIA Control panel driver bug With Multiple Monitors

Forum for all the nVidia video cards from the past, present and future!
Post Reply
Bwall
Legit Extremist
Legit Extremist
Posts: 675
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 12:22 am
Location: St. Louis
Contact:

NVIDIA Control panel driver bug With Multiple Monitors

Post by Bwall » Mon Feb 26, 2007 10:06 pm

Here's a run down on the Control Panel bug that I mentioned in the Corsair 620HX article.

Exact system specifications/setup:

BFG Tech 680i SLI - P24 BIOS
Super Talent T1000UX2G4 - EPP enabled 1000MHz (4-5-4-15-2t, Trc manual set -15) 2.3v
QX6700 13x multi
XFX 8800 GTX XXX -Primary
8800 GTX reference -Secondary
SLI Bridge on inner connectors
Creative X-Fi Fatality

Dell 3007WFP –Primary video on XFX on DVI
Dell 2407FPW –Secondary video on XFX on DVI

I found this bug trying to play Supreme Commander with dual screens enabled and then switching SLI to play FEAR.

After installing the 97.92 Win XP driver, I configure the monitors separately to run at their native resolution. Reboot. Then enter the control panel to enable SLI. Clicking apply to enable SLI causes the screen to flash a few times on the primary display and then both monitors come back on, SLI is still disabled. Reboot. The system comes on with only the primary display active. Trying to enter the NV CP causes it to crash before it can load. By running 3D Mark 06 and seeing the FPS displayed I can tell that SLI is enabled but can no longer make any changes in the NV CP or re-enable dual screens in Windows display manager without un-installing and re-installing the drivers.

Image

NVIDIA is looking into our issue, thanks for the quick response guys!
Image

User avatar
Apoptosis
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 33922
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 8:45 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Contact:

Post by Apoptosis » Mon Feb 26, 2007 10:28 pm

nice find... Not sure if NVIDIA was aware of this issue.

SweetXD
Legit User
Legit User
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 3:29 pm

Post by SweetXD » Wed Feb 28, 2007 5:05 pm

does the classic one helps ? cause I've used a dual monitor setup with the old 84 something with the Classic panel with no issues with my current G70.

Post Reply